What I Miss About Iceland or: What I Did Not Miss About the US

It has been about a year since this whole study abroad adventure began! And this blog has taken me a bit longer than I was expecting/hoping, but that’s life. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯  So here is a short and sweet post about the reverse culture shock (which was very real) and some of the things that I miss about Iceland.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Things I did not miss about the US (i.e. the reverse culture shock) 

  • Everything is huge. Like, even grocery stores are spread out.
  • Cars. Cars everywhere. Drivers not watching for pedestrians.
  • Everything is open all the time? Why? Why is this?
  • Things are so spread out? It would be unreasonable for me to walk to the nearest grocery store. That was tricky to get used to again.
  • TRAFFIC LIGHTS DON’T TURN YELLOW BEFORE THEY GO BACK TO GREEN??

akureyri

Essentially, reverse culture shock is a very real thing. I knew that lots of things are bigger and louder in the US, but I got to experience that first hand a little bit.

IMG_2396Things I am going to miss about Iceland

  • Coffee everywhere (at school, at banks, everywhere)
  • Being able to walk everywhere (Akureyri is tiny, y’all)
  • Roundabouts. They make driving much easier.
  • Driving for probably literal hours and not passing any other cars
  • Things just feel a little more laid back… not sure why.
  • Kids are often out on the town without supervision and it’s always a fun time
  • The endless, guilt free supply of hot water (waves at CA drought)*
  • I don’t know where Icelanders get their beds/ how they make them. But damn are they consistently comfy. *

akureyri sunrise

By the way, I do miss how cold it was in Iceland.

 

*I wrote and published this blog under the influence of a considerable fever and totally forgot these two things!! So there here now 🙂

One response to “What I Miss About Iceland or: What I Did Not Miss About the US

  1. Wonderful, and I agree after living abroad for all these years. Life is more laid back (and simpler!). I’ve enjoyed your blogs very much. I laughed so much at your comment about the cold at the end of each one, so the last line here made me snort!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

