Winter Wonderland

Let’s Play a Game We’re Calling: Spot the California Kid

After a crazy Halloween party the night before, I slept in quite late. But around noon, my roommate came in and woke me up to tell me that she had started breakfast  “Oh, and it’s snowing”. I glanced at my window, expecting to see snow on the mountains across the fjord, but instead it was just a flat, white gray color. I don’t think I’ve gotten out of bed that fast in quite some time.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

Now remember that I live with Canadians and someone who grew up in Idaho… So snow is not a big deal to them.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

I spent the next probably half an hour bouncing in the kitchen watching the snow fall while Emily cooked and Pik helped all the while muttering “oh no, oh no”. When asked “Have you never seen snow before?!” I explained that, yes, I’ve seen snow, and I’ve been in the snow, but I’ve never seen snow fall. At least, not that I remember.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

When my fellow American came into the kitchen, Emily informed her that “She has never seen snowfall before” “Oh my god! How are you not running around in the snow right now?!” She told me to go get dressed and that we were going out into the snow.

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

So we went to play in the snow. First we went to the field across from our house and made snow angels. And then we sneaked to the back of the house to under the kitchen window (we live on the second floor).

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

That’s our building behind the throwing ring.

The snow was sticky enough that we could make snowballs. So we did. And we threw them at the kitchen window to get our roommates’ attention. It worked and they laughed at us.

After bombarding our Halloween decorated window, we went back inside to help finish making breakfast and eat. And then we ate breakfast as the snow started falling harder.

After eating and clean-up, I put my layers back on and ventured out to hike the boulders on the other side of the field. I even remembered to take my camera with me

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

 

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

 

**I’ll hopefully be able to add some pictures later, that my roommate took, but I don’t have them yet so :/ **

By the way, it’s noticeably warmer when it’s snowy.

One response to “Winter Wonderland

  1. Gorgeous pictures – I especially like the close up of the snow piled on the green pine needles and pine cones.

    I also love that you are getting to experience snowfall! It is a magical things and one of the my very few regrets about raising you in California.

    XO!

    Like

Leave a Reply

